[Discussion] Client Libraries for Developers

Hey developers!

In recent years, many dApps have been created on the Waves protocol. The Waves team pays special attention to developer experience and tools that can be used for efficient and secure app development. We are convinced that one of the core elements for developer experience is a variety of client libraries. Several libraries and SDKs are supported by the community. They all are listed in the documentation: https://docs.waves.tech/en/building-apps/waves-api-and-sdk/client-libraries/.

The most powerful (and up-to-date) are libraries built for the JavaScript, Python, Java and PHP languages. All of them support such functionality, as accounts management, transactions signing & broadcasting and blockchain data reading.

But, as a developer, I do have some questions:

• What libraries do you use for your product development?
  • What features do you use most often/like?
  • What features are missing in the library that you use?
  • All libraries have different architecture and interfaces, and I wonder which is the easiest for the majority of developers?

Please, feel free to share your feedback or any thoughts related to client libraries in this topic. Also, you can share links to Waves protocol-related libraries if you develop or use any.

1 Like

Let me begin :slight_smile:

At Certificado.one, we use the PyWaves library for issuing certificates to users. I’d really recommend this SDK to everyone coding in Python: it’s convenient for any need and pretty easy to start using. It only takes 3 lines of code to send a transaction.

The only thing we missed was operating with cyrrilic strings, since they couldn’t be encoded properly. But fixing it and updating the library code wasn’t a big deal.

Thanks to the PyWaves team!