Is it REAL safe for me to deposit my bitcoins or ethers into Waves Wallet?

I am a beginner, i love Waves DEX. I found that if i deposit some ethers into Waves, all the real ethers will be moved to an address like: 0x41d57e163b6c64fca2cd6535fcaa199b1fedd98b instantly.
So i have two questions.

1. Why the address is not a contract(open source). Which can make sure the ethers in the address will not be stolen. A common wallet has a private key, who know the key can stole all the ethers.
  2. In our Waves wallet, there is a real ether wallet, how Waves platform stores the private key? Or the private key can only be restored by my account feeds?
    Thanks great!
8 Likes

That’s the same questions I ask myself before me and co partner of the boc journal bocoin and foxtoken was figuring out. We did some experiments.The transaction we make from a local exchanger coinsph wasn’t successfully and it can only viewed in ethers can but didn’t go to waves dex so we try a new wallet coin base then we are able to make successful deposites.now we proceeded to our test and projects.hope this will help you.

3 Likes

Ether in Waves Wallet are ethereum token manage by gateway hence Eth cannot interact direct to Waves WavesDEX. This is also happened to other exchange Site

2 Likes

So how exactly does the gateway work? Is is a smart contract on Ethereum? Is it centralized? Who controls the private keys of ETH that I send to the Waves Blockchain?

3 Likes

Dex is secure and safe,more than an exchange! I have used it and use always, very trustworthy! Welcome

3 Likes

Hey Dear Fellow, Thanks for the update
:clap::ok_hand::+1:

3 Likes

Thanks for the information.

This is not what I asked. DEX is on the Waves blockchain. Bitcoin is not. What you are trading on DEX is a Waves issued token, representing Bitcoin. Question is: where is my original bitcoin? who has the private key? It must be a centralized party, I assume. How safe is it? What are the risks?

2 Likes